Mother’s Market and Kitchen Interview

Standard

Mother’s Market and Kitchen is very responsive to their customers. I recently sent an email to clarify if the store is a chain or franchise to contact an actual person about my ideas.  the person who I should direct my concerns and ideas to. The email was forward to Terri Takemoto. She replied within 24 hours asking me if I wanted to come in and meet with her to clarify any questions I had and discuss my interests further. This shows Mother’s Market and Kitchen cares about their consumers and wants to make a personal connection.

Q: When was the store founded and by whom? What was their vision?
A: Mother’s Market and Kitchen was started in 1978 by a group of family and friends who did yoga together. Their vision was to provide the community with natural/organic food of the best quality for their dietary needs.

Q: Who is your primary audience? average age? 
A: The average customer is in their 30’s and are conscious about their health, have dietary needs (for example gluten-free), or support the organic/non-GMO movement.

Q: When is there the most traffic in the store and why?
A: Monday through Friday the lunch hour  is the busiest part of the day and the weekends  due to the grab and go area because it is quick and easy healthy food.

Q: Where do you get the supplies for the “Food-Court” like area? 
A: Most supplies are specifically ordered for that part of the store, they do use produce from the store as well. Another main aspect of that area is the vendors who provide pre packaged grab and go meals.They try and be as GMO free as possible.

Q: Where do you get the recipes for the Juice Bar? 
A: The recipes came over the years with a background of naturalpathic.

I learned that most Mother’ Markets have an actual restaurant within the market, however the Santa Ana location doesn’t due to restraints of the building–this forced them to create the grab and go area. I explained to Terri that is what sparked my interest in creating a “grab and go” type area that is open late at night.

After talking with Terri for a bit I explained to her my blog assignment and my position on GMO food, a life style of moving towards organic, and my realization of a healthy food for the night owl at convenience. If the late night healthy “fast-food” option was available, where would you spend your money?

3 responses »

  1. That is pretty cool that they responded to your answers so quickly! Awesome PR!

    On another note, it would be pretty cool if there were late night healthy “fast-food” options. I probably would go to the Mother’s Market and Kitchen if they offered that kind of service.

  2. Your idea is great! I love stores like Mother’s, Sprouts and Whole Foods; to have stores like this open late night would be awesome. I am so impressed that Terri from Mother’s got back to you so quickly, efficiently and was so responsive.

  3. Mother’s is such a great company, and I feel really great about spending my money there, especially knowing it goes to people who take their customers and public satisfaction very seriously. Plus it’s the only place I know that carries Devonshire Cream for scones, so it’s obviously a given for that, haha.

Leave a comment